Balance.

The sermon at church on Sunday was about balance and I’ve been reflecting on that today. I feel like we go through waves where we have the balance thing down and then other times it seems like nothing is in sync.

So often when things don’t feel balanced, I am less patient with the kids and I will yell or say something hurtful that I am not proud of. The guilt that follows is hard to let go of and then I find myself wondering how I became so unglued.

A friend sent me the photo below last week and I saved it to my camera roll to look at each day.

IMG_5893

I believe that each good day starts with a perfect cup of coffee and a fair amount of prayer and I am doing my best to make that happen each day. I don’t like when I allow my emotions to take the lead, I feel like it is the first step toward losing the balance that I hope to find in each day.

IMG_5889

My happiest and most balanced moments come in the form of stolen kisses from this cute little boy in his dirty t-shirt from playing outside all day. I pray he’ll never be to embarrassed to kiss his Mama.

IMG_5879.JPG

I feel balanced when he holds my hand and points out different things that he’s curious about. I pray that he will hold my hand until he’s an embarrassed teenager and then again when I’m old and and he’s sitting at my bedside listening to me tell stories of when he was young.

IMG_5901

After work today we all took a walk to the ice cream place. It’s a simple way to make the kids happy and a nice way for us to spend time together. I pray that simple things like ice cream will always unite us and bring us happiness.

Today, I do feel quite balanced. I woke up this morning and said a quick prayer of thankfulness and when I got to work I enjoyed a great cup of coffee. My day ended with a scoop of ice cream and a walk with my favorite people.

I’ve experienced some dark days in my past and I always seem to be waiting for the next storm. I don’t have to scroll through my news feed too long before I see a post about something horrible another family is going through. I find myself praying for those people and feeling fortunate for everything that we have – health included.

I can’t help but feel so gosh darn grateful today as I think about all that we have. If we should ever face another storm I pray that I will continue to seek balance in all things.

The type of balance that only He can provide.

Leave a comment