Well, Hello.

What do you post when you haven’t written in over a year?

I hope that somewhere in Ohio, Dana is wondering the same thing, because I miss her blog updates.

I will randomly get the urge to write here and then the time seems to dwindle and I never really get the chance. I’ve come back to start the conversation so many times but then it feels awkward to start over each time.

Writing was my first love. It was my outlet. At many points in my life I felt like it was my only voice. Writing healed me.

I hope to keep coming back here and jotting things down, though my thoughts are almost always scattered and never completely finished. I recently was with a friend and we laughed because we hadn’t finished a single conversation we’d started throughout the day. Between the interruption of our children and total brain fog I feel like we didn’t get to catch up at all. Please tell me we aren’t alone?

Tonight my thoughts are mostly of Hayleigh. She’s starting Kindergarten next month and every day leading up to it feels like a gift. I am so excited for her and the new experiences ahead, but I also know that it represents a whole new phase in her life, welcoming in a new set of worries and concerns as a parent.

IMG_4057

Here is my prayer for Hayleigh for kindergarten. May she always be kind and brave. May she be the one to be friends with the friendless. May she always be respectful to her teacher and to her peers. May she always know that education is a precious gift, one that she is lucky enough to receive.

I am doing my best to not be overly emotional because she is so, so excited about this transition.

If you’re holding a little one reading this and you think you have all the time in the world before it’s your turn. . you’re wrong. It goes by so fast and pretty soon you’ll be the one getting ready to send your child off to Kindergarten. If you remind me of this post I will gladly bring you all the wine and we can sit and cry together because I’ll be sending mine off to middle school by then.

Life – it sure is beautiful, but man does it all go by so fast.

Leave a comment